Category Tag

CD – kompaktinė plokštelė
LP – vinilinė plokštelė 

1. There’d Better Be a Mirrorball 4:25
2. “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am” 3:11
3. “Sculptures of Anything Goes” (Turner, Jamie Cook) 3:59
4. “Jet Skis on the Moat” (Turner, Tom Rowley) 3:17
5. Body Paint 4:50
6. “The Car” 3:18
7. “Big Ideas” 3:57
8. “Hello You” 4:04
9. “Mr Schwartz” (Turner, Rowley) 3:30
10. “Perfect Sense”

The Car is the seventh studio album by English rock band Arctic Monkeys, released on 21 October 2022 by Domino Recording Company. It was written by band frontman Alex Turner in his Los Angeles home. It was produced in Suffolk, Paris and London by frequent Arctic Monkeys collaborator James Ford, alongside frequent guest musicians Tom RowleyLoren Humphrey and Tyler Parkford. It was arranged by Bridget Samuels and Turner. Drummer Matt Helders took the picture on the album cover, which depicts a white car in an empty car park. Its title refers to said cover and the abundance of references to vehicles in the lyrics.

The Car builds upon the sound from the band’s previous album, Tranquility Base Hotel and Casino (2018). It features a wide array of genres that include orchestral rocklounge popbaroque pop, and funk, as well as elements of jazz. It also draws influence from soul musicelectronic musicglam rockbossa novatraditional pop and vintage film soundtracks.

The album was released to positive reviews. Critics complimented the band’s artistic progression, the album’s production and Turner’s lyrics, though some predicted that its continued deviation from the band’s earlier indie rock sound would prove as polarizing among longtime fans as Tranquility Base. The album has been promoted by the singles “There’d Better Be a Mirrorball“, “Body Paint” and “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am”.